Markham Music Festival Gala Concert 2010

Click here for photos!

Parents, teachers, sponsors and friends were all treated to a delightful afternoon of classical piano tunes at the Gala & Award Ceremony 2010 held on Sunday April 25th, 2010  at the Markham Theatre for Performing Arts. All audience was very enthusiastic and spontaneous to the performances and the presentation.

Numerous awards including medals and trophies were handed out to class winners during the award presentation and every prize recipient walked away with joy and a sense of achievement. The highlight of the afternoon came when all trophy winners gathered on stage  for a group picture at the end of the ceremony. The five lucky prize draws brought the show to a climatic conclusion.

As in the past, we would like to extend our gratitude to TD Canada Trust (Presenting Sponsor)Tour East Holidays (Gold Sponsor) and Locher Evers International (Silver Sponsor) for being our main sponsors. It is the active participation of our sponsors and the generous donations from friends and parents that allow us to continue this great local tradition and realize our mission of nurturing musical talents in our growing community, and the Markham Music Festival Committee is indeed grateful and appreciative for that as the festival would not have been possible without their generous support over the years.

This year, we were honoured by the presence of Mr. Michael Chan, MPP Markham-Unionville and Mr. Joseph Virgilio, Regional Councillor in support of our event. Also in the presence of our fifteenth anniversary event were Kam Lo, (TD Canada Trust, District VP),  Paul Rizzi (TD Canada Trust Branch Manager), Joseph Neizer ((TD Canada Trust Branch Manager), Rita Tsang (Tour East Holidays, President), Henry Lee (Euromusic),Tom Yuan ( Canada Immigration & Law Services), James Lin (World Journal, Marketing Director), Peter Li (Sing Tao Daily Vice President-Operations) and Edmond Tse (Fairchild Radio General Manager). Once again, our sincere thanks go to Rita Tsang, President and Chief Executive of Tour East Holidays for her generous prize donation of a round-trip ticket to Asia valued CAD$2,000.  The grand prize Markham Music Festival Trophy winner goes to Jason Lee

Biography of MMF Trophy winner Jason Lee

Born in 1994, Jason Lee began his piano studies at age five and currently studies with Professor Marietta Orlov at the Young Artists Performance Academy of the Royal Conservatory of Music.

Jason has won numerous awards at local and national music competitions. His achievements include winning the Rose Bowl in the Senior Piano Trophy Finals at the Kiwanis Music Festival of Greater Toronto, the Rose Bowl at the Peel Music Festival, and the Grand Prize at the All TV Music Festival. Jason has also placed first in the Canadian Music Competition National Finals, and received the Petrof Trophy in the 2009 Markham Music Festival. 

Last summer, Jason was accepted on full scholarship to the Toronto Summer Music Academy and was invited to perform at the Festival Quattro’s inaugural concert. He appeared as a soloist with the Cathedral Bluffs Symphony Orchestra and has performed in many concerts at various venues across the GTA. Jason has played in master classes with John Perry, Menahem Pressler, Gary Graffman, Anton Kuerti, André Laplante, Jon Kimura Parker, Peter Longworth and David Louie.

We all at Markham Music Festival wish to extend our most sincere gratitude to all participating sponsors and donors of this great musical event for their continuing support and congratulate all winners of the MMF 2010 music competition.

We all at Markham Music Festival wish to extend our most sincere gratitude to all participating sponsors and donors of this great musical event for their continued support and congratulate all winners of the MMF 2010 music competition for their outstanding achievement.

Markham Music Festival 2011 is tentatively scheduled to run in April  2011.  Winners from respective classes and/or categories will be invited to the Gala Concert and Award Ceremony 2011.  Date and location to be announced later. Application and syllabus for MMF 2011 will be available by late October 2010.

Honour Roll of MMF 2010

Markham Music Festival Trophy: Jason Lee
Petrof Trophy:  Aaron Chow
Artist Cup:  Ricker Choi
Kemble Trophy:  Anson Hui
Concerto Trophy:  Aaron Chow / Albert Yin
Sonata Trophy:  Annie Zhou
Sonatina Trophy:  Richard Gao
Bach Trophy:  Tian Wei Gao
Chopin Trophy:    Yi Wei Yao
Canadian Composer Trophy: Didi Xiong
French Music Trophy: Jason Lee
Most Promising Trophy:   Selene Tran / Vicky Kuo
Wittner Trophy:   Charlie Chan
Concerto Award (10 years & under) : Timothy Lam (1st), Justin Su (2nd), Matthew Hong, Richard Gao (3rd)
Concerto Award (13 years & under) : Albert Yin (1st), Didi Xiong, Eli Karpinsky(2nd)
Concerto Award (Open) :   Ricker Choi (1st), Aaron Chow(2nd), Rosalind Zhang (3rd)
Age Achievement Award (8 years & under) :   Richard Gao
Age Achievement Award (10 years & under) : Selene Tran (1st), Benjamin Choo, Kevin Liu(2nd), Curtis Cheung, Natalie Song (3rd)
Age Achievement Award (12 years & under) :   Didi Xiong (1st), Anson Hui (2nd), Rui Gao (3rd)
Age Achievement Award (14 years & under) :   Annie Zhou (1st), Eli Karpinsky, Tian Wei Gao (2nd)
Age Achievement Award (16 years & under) :   Jacqueline Hung (1st), Yi Wei Yao (2nd)
Age Achievement Award (18 years & under) :   Kathy Chen (1st), Vicky Kuo (2nd), Aldrich Ngan, Aaron Chow (3rd)
Age Achievement Award (Open) :   Ricker Choi (1st), Jason Lee (2nd)

Group picture of all trophy winners at the Gala

See you at Markham Music Festival 2011!

This website has been optimized for Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox.
Copyright © 2011 Euromusic Marketing Inc. All rights reserved.